A Sidekick's Blog

Another Adventure Begins! | June 18, 2015

This is my last selfie from the Batmobile. Our heavenly Father has seen fit to send me on another new adventure, but not as a sidekick this time. After a failed attempt to make it in the insurance business, which was basically door-to-door sales to businesses, I have been forced to seek out a “regular” job. But in this economy, jobs are scarce. Part-time, minimum wage, you get the picture. Thank you, Democrats and RINOs. May none of you pretenders ever influence public policy again. Anyway:

The Robinmobile is red (naturally), diesel, 10-speed, and weighs 40 tons fully loaded. Yessir, back in a big rig again. It breaks my heart to have to do it. But believe it or not, I’m the youngest driver there. Almost all of these guys are on Medicare and Social Security but they have to keep working, thanks again to Democrats and RINOs. I swore I’d never do this again after the last time just about killed me emotionally, being alone and lonely for so long, with no practical “life” outside of the truck. But it pays the equivalent of $18/hour approximately. That’s enough for us to climb out of this fiscal hole we find ourselves in again, thank you Democrats and RINOs – and one Boy Wonder for letting it get this bad before dumping the Aflac business for something that depends on my own time and effort rather than waiting for someone else to finally say “we’re ready, let’s do this.”

Remind me to swap that W for my Robin logo

It’s been many years since I did this over-the-road thing. I thought I was all done with that life. I very nearly gave up my CDL for a regular license just because it’s a lot cheaper (and tickets have far less impact on a regular driver’s license than on a CDL). I’m deeply sad about it. I cried for an hour yesterday and couldn’t turn off the tears. Again today in the pastor’s office talking about it. Actually, it’s very good that I can weep openly about the loss of my “normal” lifestyle, while at the same time rejoicing in God’s provision and feeling excited about what He’s going to do next!

I wouldn’t dare compare what I’m feeling to what my daughter must be feeling, but I think it might be similar. She and her husband are flying across the planet in a little over two weeks to begin the missionary work they have been preparing for for years. Giving away most of their stuff, all their worldly possessions fit in a couple of suitcases and carry-on bags now. Off to Papua, New Guinea! Please have a look at their blog (www.ntm.org/Josh_Verdonck) and send up some prayers for them! You might even join me in partnering with them financially. It’s an honor and privilege to do so! I don’t know if she’ll have a crying jag like I did, but Erin, if you’re reading this, it’s okay if you do or don’t – but I sure needed it. I’m thinking she already has. And I don’t even know if mine is really finished yet. 😀 Anyway, I think I can kinda sorta relate a little to how Josh and Erin must feel, and I hope my own divided heart somehow brings us closer “in spirit.”

Anyway, I’m gonna make this fun. Audio sermons to ponder while driving, lots of time to sing at the top of my lungs without anyone telling me not to, seeing different places all over the country. No matter how old I get, I’m still the Boy Wonder. Just ask my wife. So I’ll post pictures and stuff, and thoughts while on the road. It’s likely to be sporadic, both here and on Keachfan’s Theology Thursdays column, but I love to write and communication is very important to me – as I’m sure it is to every missionary who may feel forgotten by those back home when they don’t hear from them often! So if you get nothing else from this post, at least get that: Communicate with those you love! Especially to those who are far away (geographically).

Heavy-hearted and excited all at once,
Robin

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, that’s a lot for sure! Keeping you in my prayer chain, brother.

    Livin’ Life because of Jesus Christ,

    Wes

    Comment by wwsorrells — June 19, 2015 @ 6:21 pm


Leave a Reply

